Welcome and Introduction

Hey there,

My friends have suggested I start a blog for years, and I was a bit intimated because there are so many topics I am passionate about. I figure before I start writing about other topics I should tell you who I am.

Who am I? 

I’m a cis female in my 20s. I identify as a person with multiple disabilities.Reading, writing and activism has defined my life. I was raised in Welland ON, moved to North Bay for school & have lived in Toronto for the last 3.5 years.

During my undergrad at Nipissing University I double majored in Gender Equality &  Social Justice & English. I wasn’t done talking about social justice, and wanted to focus more on disability, so I continued to do an MA in Critical Disability Studies at York in Toronto…. where I still reside.

I’ve done all sorts of jobs over the years, from life-guarding, to working as a research assistant, to proving educational supports for college students with disabilities, and non-profit work that focuses on ending Gender based violence…

Family: 

I have an older sister who teaches out-door education! My mom, dad & sister live in Welland. I live in Toronto still, with my cuddly kitty Aslan.

Interests: 

Being a marginalized individual, I feel like I was born into a life of activism. I am particularly interested in mental health activism. Activism for me takes many shapes- from working at non-profits, to being active on social media, attending protests and community events when I can.

I love reading & writing, my first fiction novel, “Dancing with Ghosts” is coming out next month, more to follow shortly on this.

I also enjoy travelling  — I recently went on my first big solo  trip and explored Ireland for 3 weeks alone! As a solo female with disabilities this was an interesting, but overall amazing experience. More to come later…

I enjoy being outside, especially in the summer, riding my bike to the beach, hiking, swimming… 

Comedy! I love stand-up, listening and performing myself.

Things I may write about in my blog: 

mental health & mental health activism, social justice, disability politics,  my cat, sex-positive, travel, Toronto & anything else that is on my mind

Let me know if there is anything you’d like me to cover or know about me.

–Emily

Leave a Reply

